The Electoral Commission Of Ghana organized the 2020 General and Parliamentary Elections on January 7, 2020.

Whiles the presidential results took few days to be announced, the Parliamentary results where declared at the varous constuency levels.

The current parliament, which began on January 7 2017, will be dissolved on the night of January 6, 2021, and usher in the next, to be inaugurated on January 7, 2021, before which the President would also be sworn-in.

Ghtrendlinks takes a look at the possible persons to fill leadership positions in the house.

It is rumoured from close sources that the National Democratic Congrss(NDC) plans to maintain it’s of current leadership in parliament.

The party will maintain the MP for Tamale South, Hon. Haruna Iddrisu as the Minority Leader.

The New Patriotic Party (NPP) however seeks to add a bit of new faces.

As reliably informed, Afenyo – Markin, MP for Effutu constituency will join Hon. Osei Kyei Bonsu, MP for Suame constituency and the current minister for Parliamentary Affairs to lead the NPP in the house.

Hon. Afenyo Markin’s partnership with Hon. Osei Kyei Bonsu will be a very strong one.

The NPP will be having a tough time in parliament considering both the NDC and the NPP have equal number of seats of 137, even though the only independent candidate is likely to be on the side of the NPP.

Having Afenyo Markin backing Hon. Osei Kyei Mensah is a formidable partnership.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: